pastorjohnb

Thoughts and musings on faith and our mighty God!

One Day

Leave a comment

What amazing love God has for us!  We have the promise that one day He will return and we will be like Him.  As a child of God, we know the end of the story.

Even though we know this promise and how the story ends, we muddle along often pretending we don’t know.  For me, I live in the illusion that I am in control of my life and the things that occur in my little world.  But the reality is that in spite of all the planning, organization, … that I do, I control very little.

In fact, at times, I even fail to control myself.  In some cases I do not do what I know I should do and in other instances I do what I know I should not do.  Paul wrote of this struggle in Romans 7.  In the end he concedes what I must concede as well – only Jesus can rescue me from this struggle within.  Only through Christ do I stand a chance.

When life is hard or temptation comes my way, I must again and again remember that I am a beloved child of God.  In these times I need to recall that God is always in control and that He wants the best for me.  Laying aside self, I must trust the Spirit’s leading and guiding and I must rest in the Spirit’s protection and intercession.

1 John 3 reminds me of the “rest of the story.”  One day He will return.  And one day I will be like Him.  Until that day I wrestle with life and try to give my all to be more and more like Him every day.  This day may I live into the promise that I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.

Scripture reference: 1 John 3: 1-3

Leave a Reply

